Surprising classic ‘must see’ movies I have never seen and don’t want to see

I consider myself to be a ‘serious’ movie fan, one who will watch anything worth watching. Yet I noticed I have a long list of some of the ‘greatest’ movies ever made that I have never viewed. And more to the point, with a couple of exceptions, I don’t want to see them. For a whole host of reasons they just do not interest me.

If you accept I have seen a huge number of movies, by anybody’s standards, and used to be a film student, owned video stores, have written many thousands of reviews and movie news stories, and movies are a big part of my life. I think some people may be shocked at what I have been missing.

Perhaps you agree with me, perhaps you think I am some sort of movie-infidel who should be banned from darkened rooms with a couple of hundred other people.

I hope everyone can take the list in the spirit it was intended, I appreciate that some of these movies have a near religious attachment to some people.

I do not mean to offend anyone or their tastes. I am just putting down my often silly or misunderstanding reasons why I have not wanted to watch these movies, not that other people do not get a massive amount from them, and can watch them over and over again.

Star Wars 

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to seeThought I would start with the one I considered would cause most offence. I think that George Lucas seems to have an astonishing talent. Basically all of which has been wasted on producing this series and the admittedly very enjoyable Indiana Jones movies. What other amazing stories could he have created with all that time?

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see.

Star Trek

Think my mind was poisoned by the trash 60s show, and clips of the movies seem to have that same corny thread running through them, not to mention endless, meaningless, sci-fi babble

Casablanca

Casablanca

Seen the closing scene so many times on TV, could it get more corny than this?

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see b

Citizen Kane

I often feel this is one of a handful of movies that has to appear on any serious film fans list, (even if they don’t like it)  but I just don’t understand why, seen about 20 minutes of the movie and over acting has been raised to an art form.

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see ,,

Gone With the Wind

Corny, over acted, and one of the worst ‘classic lines’ ever in a movie ‘my dear’ Not to mention its 18 hour 17 min run time is enough to put anyone to sleep.IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 1

The Dark Knight

Same as Star trek I assume I was poisoned by the 60s TV series, and I just don’t have that comic book escapist mind I guess

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 1

The Lord of the Rings:

Fantasy films elude me totally I just cannot slip into this kind of escapismIMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 6

It’s a Wonderful Life

I lived in the US for a long time and this movie is so beloved and has to be seen every Christmas day no matter what. It has become more like a strange tradition that must be endured rather than a movie.

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see7

The Pianist

I don’t know, I just have not seen it, so it’s on my ‘perhaps I should’ list

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see g

The Lion King

Like very few kids cartoons

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 0

Raging Bull

What can I say, huge Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro fan, especially together, like good boxing movies, perhaps the movie gods will strike me down for missing this one?

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 6

On the Waterfront

Just what was the big deal with the mumbling, inaudible Strasberg educated young guy who went on to become an over-paid cameo actor.IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 77

V for Vendetta

Miss Portman was my reason for not watching this, I do not think I have liked anything she has done since Leon when she was a child.

,IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see

The Big Lebowski

I think it’s the directing style (even though it’s the Coen Brothers) that puts me of wanting to watch this, judging by the trailer.IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see ,.

The Grand Budapest Hotel

It is billed as an action, adventure comedy, the trailer and clips I have seen provide none of that, and again I struggle with fantasy films.

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see 01

12 Years a Slave

I think I have seen so many movies along similar themes I just find it too depressing to watch any more

IMDB top 250 surprising classic movies I have never seen and don’t want to see5

Ben-Hur

I have seen Gladiator so there is no going backwards

Would love to hear what ‘must see’ movies others have not seen and why, please leave your comments.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Surprising classic ‘must see’ movies I have never seen and don’t want to see

  1. I for one think it’s brave and also admirable that you would list movies you haven’t and have no interest in seeing. Are you missing out by not seeing Star Wars or Lord of the Rings. No, you just won’t get a lot of jokes when people reference them at parties. But don’t worry, you’ll probably wont get invited anyways. Nah I’m just teasing. I have no desire to see Gone with The Wind or It’s a Wonderful life either, just because I have seen the ending to them too many times.

    Like

  2. I think the point of my list was that so many people would list movies like Citizen Kane as one of their favourites out of a need to feel that they had picked something with great artistic merit, rather than they actually like it. And movies like Star Wars are like being in some sort of worldwide special club that members feel everyone should belong to, and find it hard to understand why anyone would not want to join.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard so much about Citizen Kane that I thought I had to watch it. I dropped it after 20 minutes. We have all the dvds of Lord of the Rings ( sister bought them )….. I watched the first one…. didn’t watch the rest. My sister thinks I really have weird taste. I don’t like old, old movies. They’re over-acting .

    I do like Star Wars. ( the first 3 )

    I like The Exorcist…. in fact I watch it at least once a year, on Oct .31.

    Like

  4. Awesome list!! Quite similar to mine actually 🙂 some movies are identical and even the movies that aren’t the same share traits with one another (if you know what I mean!) well…at least there’s two of us on the internet that can be honest about what we’ve watched ha ha!

    Have you seen any since making this list? I’ve since watched Back to the Future 3!

    (that’s right, not Raging Bull or Apocalypse Now …..but Back to the Future 3! haha)

    Like

  5. My wife watched the new Star Wars just last night, unfortunately I still could not muster up the interest. That is the one that seems to ‘offend’ people, not seeing Star Wars is seen by so many people as missing out on the second coming or something.
    A couple of your choices like Apocalypse and Raging Bull I would put in the ‘guy movie’ section for sure, so not shocked you have not seen them, The only one that surprised me personally was BTTF3, but I am happy you have now seen it.
    Most of my unseen list fall into the ‘fantasy’ section and things like Batman and this summers endless barrage of comic book heroes I left behind when I was 12 and discovered girls.
    I think sometimes the ‘everybody has seen it’ thing can seriously put me off wanting to view it myself

    Like

Leave a Reply

