Titanic’s James Cameron on Star Wars: The Force Awakens: George Lucas’s films had more innovative visual imagination

George Lucas “had more innovative visual imagination”.

James Cameron really wasn’t a fan of Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Speaking in an interview with Hannah Litchfield, theTitanic filmmaker claimed that George Lucas’s original films “had more innovative visual imagination” than JJ Abrams’s follow-up.

Cameron noted that Star Wars creator Lucas “is a friend of mine”, adding: “I don’t want to say too much about [The Force Awakens] because I also have a lot of respect for JJ Abrams and I want to see where they’re taking it next.”

He added: “I have to say that I felt that George’s group of six films had more innovative visual imagination, and this film was more of a retrenchment to things you had seen before and characters you had seen before.

“And it took a few baby steps forward with new characters. So for me the jury’s out. I want to see where they go with it.”

 

Source: Titanic’s James Cameron on Star Wars: The Force Awakens: George Lucas’s films had more innovative visual imagination

4 thoughts on “Titanic’s James Cameron on Star Wars: The Force Awakens: George Lucas’s films had more innovative visual imagination

  1. Here’s what I tweeted when I read the news: Cameron failing to understand that exercising restraint can be a virtue and how consistency can outshine imagination. I haven’t heard of anyone that’s excited about the new Avatar movies (I’m positive there are some, I just haven’t heard of any)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Avatar for me seemed to take technology and put it to good use to create something on film that we’d never really seen before. Sure we’d seen CGI alien worlds and motion capture but never on such a scale and never with the 3D that good. The story while good felt full of too many elements borrowed from better films that had come before. So am I excited by Avatar 2 or as much as I am excited by Episode VIII? Not even close but here’s something interesting. I’m more excited by Blonkamp doing Alien 5 than Avatar 2 although I believe the latter is more likely to be better. Is this why we can’t have nice things?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I assume there will be a huge PR machine in place to drum up interest, but so far there seems to be basically no excitement at all that this movie is on the way, I have a feeling that although it will do well off the back of the original it will not live up to the shock value of the first which was the main interest for most people who went to see it,

    Like

Leave a Reply

